Becoming a Solicitor in the UK: A Guide to Qualification and Registration

Becoming a Solicitor in the UK: A Guide to Qualification and Registration

Welcome to our comprehensive guide on how to become a solicitor in the UK! Whether you’re a law student eager to embark on your legal career or a working professional looking to switch professions, this guide will provide you with a step-by-step breakdown of the qualifications and registration process required to become a solicitor.

Section 1: Qualifications

1. A Law Degree

The first step towards becoming a solicitor is obtaining a law degree. Pursuing an LLB (Bachelor of Laws) or an equivalent degree from a recognized university will equip you with the foundational knowledge of English law. Make sure to select a course that is recognized by the Solicitors Regulation Authority (SRA) to ensure that you meet the necessary academic requirements.

2. Legal Practice Course (LPC)

After completing your law degree, you need to undertake the LPC. The LPC is a vocational course that further hones your legal skills and prepares you for the practical aspects of being a solicitor. It covers subjects such as legal research, drafting, client interviewing, and advocacy. Ensure that the LPC provider you choose is accredited by the SRA.

3. Training Contract

Once you have successfully completed the LPC, you will need to secure a training contract with a law firm or an organization that is authorized to provide training. The training contract typically lasts for two years and provides you with the opportunity to gain practical experience in different areas of law under the supervision of qualified solicitors. It is crucial to start applying for training contracts early, as they can be competitive.

Section 2: Registration

1. Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE)

From 2021 onwards, the SRA has introduced a new route to qualification known as the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE). The SQE is a series of exams designed to assess your competence in legal knowledge and skills. It will replace the previous system of the Qualified Lawyers Transfer Scheme (QLTS) for foreign lawyers.

2. SQE1

The first part of the SQE, known as SQE1, tests your practical legal knowledge. It consists of both multiple-choice questions and written tasks. To ensure success in SQE1, it is crucial to thoroughly prepare by taking practice exams and mocks. You can access an SQE1 practice exam question bank here.

3. SQE2

The second part of the SQE, known as SQE2, tests your practical legal skills. It assesses your ability to apply legal knowledge to real-life scenarios through written exercises, client interviewing, advocacy, and legal research. To prepare for SQE2, it is beneficial to enroll in SQE2 preparation courses here.

4. Admission

After successfully completing both parts of the SQE, you are eligible to apply for admission as a solicitor. This entails submitting an application to the SRA along with the necessary documentation and fees. Once your application is approved, you will be admitted to the roll of solicitors and can legally practice as a solicitor in the UK.


Embarking on a career as a solicitor in the UK requires dedication, perseverance, and a solid educational foundation. By following the qualifications and registration process outlined in this guide, you can set yourself on a path towards becoming a successful solicitor. Remember to stay updated on SRA SQE exam dates here and continuously expand your legal knowledge and skills throughout your professional journey.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *